Board Members

The UNC Asheville Board of Trustees, and all boards within the state university system, is comprised of 13 trustees. Eight trustees are appointed by the UNC Board of Governors, four appointed by the Speaker and President Pro Tem. The President of the Student Government Association also serves as a trustee and is elected annually among the student body. Contact the Board of Trustees at

Robby Russell


Roger Aiken

Vice Chair

Karen K. Brown


Jim Peterson


Lauren Braswell

SGA President and Student Trustee

Richard J. Lutovsky

Past Chair

Louis Bissette

Stephen De May

George Groome

Dr. Patrice A. Harris

Peter Heckman

Chuck McGrady

Oscar Wong